Biographies of West Virginia statehood leaders were prepared by Marshall University Humanities Program graduate students enrolled in Dr. Billy Joe Peyton's Fall 2010 "Historical Studies" class at Marshall's South Charleston campus.

By Andrew J. Wood

Dennis B. Dorsey was a delegate from Monongalia County to the 2nd Wheeling Convention. Early in the statehood movement, he called for a quick and permanent separation for Eastern Virginia, but his motion was defeated by John Carlise. During the proceeding of the Convention, he was appointed to the position of Temporary President of the Reorganized Government of Virginia.

Bibliography

Lewis, Virgil Anson and Henry S. Green. *Biennial report of the Department of Archives and History of the State of West Virginia(Volume 2).* (The Department, 1906) 171.