Biographies of West Virginia statehood leaders were prepared by Marshall University Humanities Program graduate students enrolled in Dr. Billy Joe Peyton's Fall 2010 "Historical Studies" class at Marshall's South Charleston campus.

By Kelly L. Pruett

Chapman Johnson Stuart

Chapman Johnson Stuart (January 8, 1820-April 20, 1888), delegate from Doddridge County, was born in Bath county, Virginia. From 1852 to 1861, he was prosecuting attorney of Doddridge County, (West) Virginia. He was a member of the Secession Convention and voted against secession, but, as a member of the Second Wheeling Convention, he opposed the dismemberment of Virginia. As chairman of the convention "Committee on a Proper Boundary," he had an important part in determining the present extent of West Virginia. He took an active part in other phases of the convention proceedings.

While Congress was debating the West Virginia statehood bill, Stuart was organizing the Fourteenth (West) Virginia volunteer infantry, of which he was Lieutenant colonel. In 1863 he was elected judge of the fourth circuit and served in that capacity until January 1, 1873. From 1875 to 1879, he was a delegate from Doddridge County in the state legislature. Colonel Stuart was twice married: First, to Elizabeth Lytle who bore him one daughter, Anna R., who married Fr. M.C. Daughtery of Grafton, West Virginia; and second, on January 25, 1858, to Mary Ann Stuart of Highland County, Virginia, who bore him five children: Winfield Scott Stuart, a lawyer in Doddridge County; Agnes, who married George W. Farr; Elizabeth; Theressa; and Douglas Stuart. He died and is buried in West Union, West Virginia.

Sources:

Stuart Family traditions; Doddridge County Records.

Ambler, Charles H., Francis Haney Atwood and William B. Mathews, editors, *Debates and Proceedings of the First Constitutional Convention of West Virginia* (1861-1863), p. 96, Huntington: Gentry Brothers Printers.