< Archives & History Commission - December 27, 2012 Skip Navigation


A special meeting via conference call, with the host site being the Historic Preservation Conference Room at the Culture Center in Charleston, was called to order by Chairman Robert Conte at 1:35 p.m. In addition to Dr. Conte, other voting members in attendance by telephone were Harold Forbes, Becky Frye, Victor Greco, Dr. Charles Ledbetter, Noel Tenney, and Dr. Joan Walker. Ex officio non-voting members present at the host site were Joe Geiger, director, Archives and History Section, serving as secretary for the commission; and Susan Pierce, director, Historic Preservation Section. Also present at the host site were Culture and History staff members Jennifer Brennan and Pam Brooks. Voting member Bill Richardson was unable to participate. Ex officio voting members unable to participate were Fredrick Armstrong and Dr. Bill Arnett. Ex officio non-voting members unable to participate were Dr. Michael Hohn, director, West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey; Charles Morris, director, Museums Section; Jeremy Morris, president, Preservation Alliance of West Virginia; and Randall Reid-Smith, commissioner of Culture and History.

Chairman Conte called upon Ms. Pierce to explain the purpose of the meeting. Ms. Pierce explained that there were unspent funds from the survey and planning grants awarded for the FY2012 federal fiscal year at the January 27, 2012, meeting of the Archives and History Commission. She informed commission members that the National Park Service had given the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) until December 2012 to reallocate these funds to other Certified Local Government projects. SHPO must sub-grant at least 10 percent of its annual federal grant to CLGs or return the funding to the National Park Service. SHPO recommendations for grant awards were mailed to commission members (copy attached to official minutes), and Ms. Pierce asked that the commission approve the recommendations.

Ms. Frye asked what "other" represented in the budget sections of the applications, and she was informed by Ms. Brooks and Ms. Brennan that this included costs for space rental and for continuing education credits for those who completed the realtor training courses. Dr. Walker inquired about the $12,000 request for a consultant for the Beverly Historic District Amendment. In reply, Ms. Pierce stated that the consultant would probably look at the original boundary to see if it needed to be increased and if additional contributing structures should be added. Chairman Conte asked if anyone was familiar with Cottrill's Opera House in Tucker County, and Mr. Forbes stated he had looked into the theater, and noted that the opera house has a website with photographs and information. Chairman Conte asked if these grants require a match and was informed no match was required.

Mr. Forbes made a motion to approve the recommendations made by the State Historic Preservation Office regarding the second round of CLG grants. Dr. Walker seconded the motion, and the motion passed, with Mr. Greco recusing himself.

Dr. Conte then declared the meeting adjourned at 1:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph N. Geiger, Jr.

Archives and History Commission

West Virginia Archives and History