History Bowl 2010

On April 27, 2010, eighteen 8th-grade teams vied to become champions of the first-ever West Virginia History Bowl, held by the Division of Culture and History at the Culture Center. After a series of single elimination rounds, the Shady Spring Middle School team of David Meadows, David Oye, Katlin Price, and Joshua Rudy took the championship in a victory over Moorefield Middle School's team of Heather Baldwin, Jared Beard, Carlos Dolby, and Daryll High. St. Francis Central Catholic School finished in third, and Wayne Middle School's Red Team placed fourth.

The first and second place students received trophies for their efforts. In addition the first place team took home a traveling trophy to its school to display for one year until next year's competition. Each student who participated received a $100 savings bond and certificate. Sponsors whose contributions help pay for the savings bonds and trophies are Bluestone Energy Partners and Meadowwood Farms of Ellenboro, The Pinnacle Group Custom Homes of White Sulphur Springs, and Larry Swann of Charleston.

Moderating the rounds during the day were Raamie Barker, administrative assistant to the West Virginia senate president; Anne Barth, state director, Office of Sen. Robert C. Bryd; Bethany Cline, executive assistant to the commissioner, West Virginia Division of Culture and History; Kelly Goes, cabinet secretary, West Virginia Department of Commerce; The Honorable Joseph R. Goodwin, U.S. District Court Judge, Southern District of West Virginia; Kay Goodwin, cabinet secretary, West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History; Martha McKee, chief of staff, Education and the Arts; Dr. Brian Noland, chancellor, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission; Dr. Steven Paine, West Virginia superintendent of schools; The Honorable Linda Sumner, West Virginia House of Delegates District 27; J. D. Waggoner, secretary, West Virginia Library Commission; Bryan Ward, assistant director, West Virginia Archives and History; and The Honorable Harry Keith White, House of Delegates District 21.


West Virginia History Bowl

West Virginia Archives and History