History Bowl 2011

History Bowl expanded in 2011. The 16 teams that competed at the state level were selected because they were the champion and runner-up teams from eight regional History Bowl tournaments held throughout the state in the Regional Education Service Agency (RESA) districts. In February and March, 61 teams from 45 schools competed in the regional events.

The state tournament was held at the Culture Center in Charleston on April 26, 2011. Moorefield Middle School, the top competitor in the day-long event with only one loss in the six matches in which they participated, defeated Sissonville Middle School during the double-elimination championship match.

Five students were named to the All Tournament team. Those students were Jacob Bennett of Shady Spring Middle School, Tanner Carr of Moorefield Middle School, Rebecca Merrill of Moorefield Middle School, Lily Mirfakhraie of St. Francis Central Catholic and James Shafer of Sissonville Middle School. The fifth student, Ellie McClung of Sissonville Middle School, was named Most Valuable Player.

Moderating the rounds during the day were Bethany Cline, executive assistant to the commissioner, West Virginia Division of Culture and History; Joe Geiger, director, West Virginia Archives and History; The Honorable Joseph R. Goodwin, U.S. District Court Judge, Southern District of West Virginia; Kay Goodwin, cabinet secretary, West Virginia Department of Arts, Culture and History; Caryn Gresham, deputy commissioner, West Virginia Division of Culture and History; Martha McKee, chief of staff, Education and the Arts; Dr. Brian Nolan, chancellor, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission; Jeff Pierson, director, Arts Section; The Honorable Linda Sumner, West Virginia House of Delegates District 27; Larry Swann, government relations; Beth Vorhees, West Virginia Public Broadcasting; and Bryan Ward, assistant director, West Virginia Archives and History.


West Virginia History Bowl

West Virginia Archives and History