Skip Navigation

Members of the
West Virginia Centennial Commission

Extracted from the West Virginia Blue Book, 1963

Created under provisions of House Concurrent Resolution No. 3, adopted by the Regular Session of the Legislature on February 1, 1955. Replaced by provision of House Bill 57, passed by 1959 Legislature.

Members Ex Officio
W. W. Barron, Governor, Elkins
Howard W. Carson, Senate President, Fayetteville
Julius W. Singleton, Jr., House Speaker, Beckley

Governor's Committee
Charles Hodel, Chairman, Beckley
Phil M. Conley, Vice-Chairman, Charleston
Delf Norona, Moundsville
Doctor John W. Hollister, Huntington
Doctor Festus P. Summers, Morgantown
William Diefenbach, Wheeling
Bonn Brown, Elkins
Mrs. J. C. Huffman, Buckhannon
Joseph Jeffcott, Charleston
James Moler, Charles Town
Mrs. Fred Peterson, Parkersburg
Dr. Warden M. Lane, Glenville
Norman Laughlin, Fairmont
Dr. Bernard Poindexter, Huntington
L. E. Ward, Jr., Charleston

Senate President's Committee
Senator Glenn Taylor, Matewan
Senator R. E. Barnett, Bluefield
Dr. Leroy B. Allen, Bluefield

House Speaker's Committee
W. E. Chilton, III, Charleston
Earl B. Hager, Logan
Miles C. Stanley, Charleston

Government and Politics

West Virginia Archives and History